Sir Terry Wogan inducted into Hall of Fame

Legendary broadcaster and BBC Radio 2 breakfast stalwart has been inducted.

Legendary broadcaster and BBC Radio 2 breakfast stalwart Sir Terry Wogan has today been inducted into the PRS for Music Radio Academy Hall of Fame.

At a ceremony in central London Sir Terry accepted the award and also picked up the PRS for Music John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio. With tributes given by the likes of Chris Moyles, Tony Blackburn, Neil Fox, John Humphrys and breakfast show replacement Chris Evans, Sir Terry Wogan accepted the award from songwriter and Take That star Gary Barlow. The Hall of Fame is the UK radio industry's tribute to those legendary voices who make, and have made, an outstanding contribution to the sound of British radio and to British cultural life. Past inductees include Kenny Everett, Arthur Askey, The Goons, Tony Blackburn and Alistair Cooke.


The public may have mistaken longevity for merit!  However if you hang around long enough, a proportion of the British public will hold you in affection.

Terry Wogan

I don't know what he does on his show but it's bloody brilliant. Sir Terry is a perfect broadcaster, he just knows what to do.

Chris Evans

I can’t think of a better broadcaster to enter the Hall of Fame. His work and long career has given pleasure to many and we’re honoured that PRS for Music could be part of this.  


Sir Terry follows in the footsteps of some of this country’s most notable radio broadcasters. The Hall of Fame salutes those who have contributed so much to this country’s fine radio industry.

Trevor Dann - Chief Executive, The Radio Academy

PRS for Music has sponsored the Radio Academy Hall of Fame for the last 2 years and licenses its 65,000 members music to all UK radio stations.

switching account

Switching your account...