arlo parks

PRS member Arlo Parks wins 2021 Mercury Prize

Arlo Parks has won the 2021 Mercury Music Prize for her debut album Collapsed In Sunbeams

Paul Nichols
  • By Paul Nichols
  • 10 Sep 2021
  • min read

Collapsed In Sunbeams, was released in January this year and reached number three in the charts. Critics praised its compassion and insight into topics like mental health and sexuality.

Collecting the award after the initial shock of winning, she said ‘There were moments where I wasn't sure whether I would make it through - but I am here today, so thank you very much.’

Arlo Parks has been hailed as the voice of Generation Z and Mercury Prize judges called her a ‘singular voice’ who ‘demonstrates how to be quietly strong in a world of extrovert noise.

"Through this work of great ambition and creativity, your collective songwriting expertise has been acknowledged as some of the finest the world has to offer. Eight of this year’s Mercury Prize nominees have received PRS Foundation funding to help develop their careers, and it is incredibly encouraging to see yet another music creator rising to the top of their game after receiving this support. We wish you every success as you continue on your musical journey."- Andrea Czapary Martin, CEO, PRS for Music, congratulated Arlo Parks on behalf of the whole team at PRS for Music.

The Mercury Prize, given to the best British or Irish album of the past 12 months, is now in its 30th year.

Judge Annie Mac said the list showed ‘how remarkably creative and diverse British music is at the moment’.

The full list of nominees was:

  • Arlo Parks - Collapsed In Sunbeams
  • Berwyn - Demotape/VEGA
  • Black Country, New Road - For The First Time
  • Celeste - Not Your Muse
  • Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra - Promises
  • Ghetts - Conflict Of Interest
  • Hannah Peel - Fir Wave
  • Laura Mvula - Pink Noise
  • Mogwai - As The Love Continues
  • Nubya Garcia - Source
  • Sault - Rise
  • Wolf Alice - Blue Weekend