AIM Awards 2022 logo

AIM Independent Music Awards announce first nominees for 2022

The AIM Independent Music Awards will return in-person on 28 September at London’s Roundhouse, followed by a live show open to the public.

Liam Konemann
  • By Liam Konemann
  • 21 Jul 2022
  • min read

The nominees for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards have been announced, with the event set to return in-person at the Roundhouse in London on Wednesday 28 September.

The list features numerous double-nominees, including indie sensations Wet Leg, rock duo Nova Twins, rapper Knucks, soul outfit Children of Zeus, rising star TAAHLIAH, rapper Jeshi, indie-pop singer Nilüfer Yanya, and previous winners Dave and FKA Twigs.

Among the nominees in the best independent album category, in association with Spotify, are Walt Disco for Unlearning, SAULT and their album NINE, and Cleo Sol for her solo album Mother. After garnering critical acclaim for their releases, Black Country, New Road, Jana Rush, Nilüfer Yanya, Ross From Friends and Tirzah are all nominated for Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music.

In the breakthrough categories, Children of Zeus, Warmduscher, Knucks, Nova Twins, and Wet Leg are all up for UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music after a hugely successful year. Meanwhile, Australian rockers Amyl & the Sniffers, rapper Blxst, London eight-piece KOKOROKO, Tuareg songwriter Mdou Moctar and Gen-Z favourite Mitski are all in consideration for International Breakthrough in association with Deezer. The likes of Barry Can't Swim, Jeshi, Léa Sen, Nia Archives and TAAHLIAH all receive nods for One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing, which spotlights future stars.

The Best Independent Track award in association with Meta highlights work by Anz, Overmono, Knucks, Wu-Lu and more, while the Best Independent Remix nominees breathe new life into fantastic tracks, including ATO, FLOHIO - no caroline remix, Erika de Casier - Polite (Mura Masa Remix), Ibeyi - Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix), MF DOOM - Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix)and Shygirl - BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix). The brand new category for Best Independent EP/Mixtape boasts a diverse list of artists, including Joy Orbison, Surya Sen, Wesley Joseph and more. 

As before, the Best Live Performer award will be voted for by the public, with the online poll closing at 2pm on Thursday 18 August. 

Returning as the most anticipated night in the independent music calendar, the AIM Awards will showcase the incredible talent and resilience of the community, as well as celebrating the most exciting future stars. The evening will also include a live show open to the public, with performers and ticket information soon to be announced.

The AIM Independent Music Awards 2022 nominees are:

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music
Children of Zeus (Rough Trade)
Warmduscher (Bella Union)
Knucks (No Days Off)
Nova Twins (Marshall Records)
Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International Breakthrough in association with Deezer
Amyl & the Sniffers (Rough Trade)
Blxst (Red Bull Records)
Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)
Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)
Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta
Anz - You Could Be ft. George Riley (Ninja Tune)
Dave - Starlight (Neighbourhood Recordings)
FKA twigs - tears in the club ft. the weeknd (Beggars)
Jeshi - Protein feat. Obongjayar (Because Music)
Knucks, SL - Nice & Good
Nova Twins - Antagonist
Overmono - So U Kno (XL Recordings)
Wet Leg - Chaise Longue
Wu-Lu - Broken Homes (Warp Records)
Yves Tumor - Jackie (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape
FKA Twigs - CAPRISONGS (Beggars)
Joy Orbison - still slipping vol.1 (XL Recordings)
Surya Sen - At What Cost? (Skint Records)
TAAHLIAH - Angelica (untitled (recs))

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify
Boj - Gbagada Express (Moves Recordings)
Children Of Zeus - Balance
Cleo Sol - Mother (Forever Living Originals)
Dave - We're All Alone In This Together
Dave Okumu - Knopperz (Neighbourhood Recordings)
Emma-Jean Thackray - Yellow (Movementt)
Mustafa - When Smoke Rises (Young)
Nilüfer Yanya - Painless (ATO Records)
SAULT - NINE (Forever Living Originals)
Walt Disco - Unlearning (Lucky Number)

Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music
Black Country, New Road - Ants From Up There (Ninja Tune)
Jana Rush - Painful Enlightenment (Planet Mu Records)
Nilüfer Yanya - ‘Painless’
Ross From Friends - Tread (Brainfeeder)
Tirzah - Colourgrade (Domino Recording Company)

Best Independent Remix
ATO - no caroline remix (FLOHIO) (MCMXCV)
Erike de Casier - Polite (Mura Masa Remix) (4AD)
Ibeyi - Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix) (XL Recordings)
MF DOOM - Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix) (Lex Records)
Shygirl - BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix) (Because Music)

One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing
Barry Can't Swim (Technicolour / Ninja Tune)
Jeshi (Because Music)
Léa Sen (Partisan Records)
Nia Archives (HIJINXX)