The Ivors Classical Awards 2023

The Ivors Classical Awards 2023 nominees announced

34 composers have been nominated for an Ivor Novello Award as part of this year's ceremony.

Sam Moore
  • By Sam Harteam Moore
  • 18 Oct 2023
  • min read

The nominees for The Ivors Classical Awards 2023 have been announced.

This year's awards ceremony, which was previously known as The Ivors Composer Awards, will take place on 14 November at BFI Southbank in London. PRS for Music is supporting the event, which will be subsequently broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 18 November.

11 Ivor Novello Awards will be presented on the night. The eight main category winners will be complemented by the presentation of three Gift of the Academy awards, including the previously announced Academy Fellowship which will go to John Rutter CBE.

A jury of 40 composer judges took part in this year's nomination process — which embraced anonymous judging, where all identifying information is removed from any entered materials — with each judge putting forward between three and five works for each category.

44% of this year's shortlist are first-time nominees, including Jasdeep Singh Degun, Simon Knighton, Angela Elizabeth Slater and Dobrinka Tabakova. Three composers — Brett Dean, Brian Irvine and Hannah Kendall — have received two nominations each.

Tom Gray, Chair of The Ivors Academy, said of the announcement: 'The Ivors Classical Awards celebrate the very best new compositions and this year's nominations are no exception. From first-time nominees to Ivor Novello Award winning composers, the shortlist showcases a remarkable diversity of talent and creativity, reflecting the vibrancy and innovation of contemporary classical music. Judged by composers from The Ivors Academy, each Ivor Novello Award symbolises the respect and appreciation music creators have for each other.

'I look forward to celebrating with the nominees and winners on 14 November.'

Andrea Czapary Martin, CEO at PRS for Music, added: 'We are delighted to continue our partnership with The Ivors Academy for these prestigious awards which see 34 remarkable composers and sound artists nominated – talented individuals who will no doubt shape the musical landscape of the classical industry in the UK. For the first time, music publishers also receive greater recognition and credit for their continued belief and support in the contemporary classical community.

'Congratulations to all the nominees, we look forward to celebrating with you at the ceremony in November.'

You can find out more information about The Ivors Classical Awards 2023 by heading here, and you can see the full list of nominees below.

Best Chamber Ensemble Composition

Celebrating classical works composed for four to eighteen instruments, and for one instrument or voice per part.

Disco! Disco! Good! Good? composed by Jasper Dommett for chamber ensemble

Even Sweetness Can Scratch The Throat composed by Hannah Kendall for chamber ensemble

Növények composed by Thomas Adès for mezzo-soprano and piano sextet

Staggered Nocturne composed by Luke Bedford for 14 players and percussion soloist

Why Do You Grieve composed by William Marsey for chamber ensemble

Best Choral Composition

Celebrating classical works specifically composed for voices; either a capella or accompanied.

Kishtatos | קישתתוס composed by Omri Kochavi for 18 voices

Landscape composed by Naomi Pinnock for 6 solo voices

Sol composed by Ben Nobuto for SATB vocal ensemble

Best Community and Participation Composition in association with ABRSM

Celebrating works composed for voluntary, amateur or youth performers and/or community engagement.

Estuary Sound Ark composed by Matthew Herbert

Heroes composed by Harry Castle

It Takes A City composed by Toby Young

Swarm Fanfares composed by Dobrinka Tabakova

Together and Apart composed by Ned Bigham

Best Large Ensemble Composition

Celebrating classical works composed for up to 36 players.

Antigone: Pure In Her Crime composed by Athanasia Kontou for chamber orchestra and mezzo-soprano

ilolli-pop composed by Alex Paxton for ensemble and improvising soloist

Ka composed by Bushra El-Turk for percussion soloist and string orchestra

Shouting Forever Into The Receiver composed by Hannah Kendall for 17 players

Through The Fading Hour composed by Angela Elizabeth Slater for chamber orchestra

Best Orchestral Composition

Celebrating large symphonic works, including works for choir and orchestra.

Archora composed by Anna Thorvaldsdottir for symphony orchestra

Cello Concerto composed by Brett Dean for symphony orchestra and solo cello

Elliptics composed by Emily Howard for orchestra, soprano and countertenor

In This Brief Moment composed by Brett Dean for symphony orchestra and double SATB chorus

Sound Sculpture No. 7 composed by Simon Knighton for orchestra

Best Small Chamber Composition

Celebrating classical works composed for one to three instruments, and for one instrument or voice per part.

Answer Machine Tape, 1987 composed by Philip Venables for solo piano with amplification and KeyScanner device, projection and recorded sound

Comme L’espoir / You Might All Disappear composed by Josephine Stephenson for soprano and guitar

Crow Rotations composed by Larry Goves for soprano, flute/alto flute, alto saxophone, cello and electronics

Silberblau composed by Matthew Grouse for guitar and electronics

The Book Of The Sediments composed by Newton Armstrong for soprano and electronic sounds

Best Sound Art

Celebrating non concert format works which use sound as both their medium and their subject, including installations, sculptural, electroacoustic and audience interactive pieces.

LOL by Olivia Louvel

Machair by Duncan MacLeod

Rites For Crossing Water by Hugh Crewdson Jones and Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian

Best Stage Work

Celebrating works composed for the stage, including opera, dance and musical theatre.

Least Like The Other: Searching For Rosemary Kennedy composed by Brian Irvine

Like Water For Chocolate composed by Joby Talbot

Orpheus composed by Jasdeep Singh Degun

The Scorched Earth Trilogy composed by Brian Irvine

Violet composed by Tom Coult