mercury prize

The 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize announce coverage plans

With social distancing measures still in place, there will be no live award show this year.

Maya Radcliffe
  • By Maya Radcliffe
  • 22 Sep 2020
  • min read

The Hyundai Mercury Prize and BBC Music have announced their plans for the TV, radio and online coverage of this year’s Prize.

The TV & radio coverage planned is:

BBC Four, Wednesday, 23 September – 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize Albums of the Year programme featuring specially filmed live performances from many of the shortlisted artists. In a first for the Hyundai Mercury Prize, the show will be streamed to international audiences via the Hyundai Mercury Prize YouTube channel, with support from this year’s digital music partner YouTube Music.

BBC One, Thursday, 24 September – the overall winner of the 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize will be announced on The One Show.

BBC Two, Friday, 25 September – a ‘Later… with Jools Holland’ special reviewing the 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize and featuring an interview with the winning artist & performances.

BBC Radio 6 Music will continue their ongoing coverage of the shortlisted artists – and there will be a Hyundai Mercury Prize special on 6 Music on Thursday, 24 September with Tom Ravenscroft from 7pm to 9pm.

The Prize’s new digital music partner, YouTube Music will be promoting the Hyundai Mercury Prize from the shortlist announcement onwards. YouTube Music will also host the official Prize playlist featuring the 12 shortlisted artists and albums and support the Prize's first ever international live stream.

The 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize Albums of the Year are:

Anna Meredith - FIBS
Charli XCX - How I’m Feeling Now
Dua Lipa - Future Nostalgia
Georgia - Seeking Thrills
Kano - Hoodies All Summer
Lanterns on the Lake - Spook the Herd
Laura Marling - Song for Our Daughter
Michael Kiwanuka - KIWANUKA
Moses Boyd - Dark Matter
Porridge Radio - Every Bad
Sports Team - Deep Down Happy
Stormzy - Heavy is the Head

According to the bookmakers, the three leading candidates out of the twelve nominees are Michael Kiwanuka, Laura Marling and Kano.