Stormzy wins big at 2017 AIM Awards

South London rapper Stormzy was the biggest winner at the AIM Awards 2017, taking home two gongs.

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 6 Sep 2017
  • min read
South London rapper Stormzy was the biggest winner at the AIM Awards 2017.

He took the Album of the Year gong for his chart-topping debut Gang Signs and Prayer, plus the PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Artist.

Sampha won Independent Breakthrough Of The Year for his own debut album Process, released on Young Turks – the same label that released On Hold by Independent Track Of The Year winners The xx.

Following their recent takeover of the o2 Arena, London, the Innovator Award went to grime collective Boy Better Know, made up of JME, Skepta, Wiley, Jammer, Frisco, Solo 45, Shorty and Maximum, plus agent Rebecca Prochnik and manager Sam.

Elsewhere, Because Music – home to Christine and the Queens and Major Lazer – picked up Independent Label Of The Year.

Long-running, boundary-pushing electronic music label Planet Mu won Best Small Label, while Sheffield trailblazer Steve Beckett of Warp Records took the Pioneer Award.

The 2017 AIM Awards took place at East London’s The Brewery. Organised by the Association of Independent Music to highlight the UK’s vibrant independent sector, this year’s event was hosted by MistaJam and Clara Amfo and saw performances by British rapper Dave and breakout indie-rockers Public Service Broadcasting.

Donations were collected for charity partner Youth Music, the leading national charity providing music-making opportunities every year for over 75,000 children experiencing challenging circumstances, including poverty, mental health issues and family problems.

M was on hand to catch red carpet interviews with some of the night’s biggest winners and guests. Keep an eye out on M online for more…

Full winners’ list

Best Small Label: Planet Mu

Best Live Act: Counterfeit

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Sampha

Hardest Working Group Or Artist: Shaodow

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Lovely Creatures: The Best Of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (1984 – 2014)

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album: Jlin – Black Origami

Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival: Lost Evenings

Indie Champion Award: Katie Riding and Joe Daniel – Independent Label Market

Independent Track Of The Year: The xx – On Hold

Independent Video Of The Year: DJ Shadow – Nobody Speak (Ft. Run The Jewels)

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Stormzy

Independent Album Of The Year: Stormzy – Gang Signs and Prayer

Independent Label Of The Year: Because Music

Innovator Award: Boy Better Know

Outstanding Contribution To Music: The Dillinger Escape Plan

Pioneer Award: Steve Beckett – Warp Records