Scottish New Music awards

Scottish Awards for New Music winners announced

Helen Grime, Robert Irvine and Ailie Robertson were among the winners of the Scottish Awards for New Music.

Jim Ottewill
  • By Jim Ottewill
  • 10 Mar 2017
  • min read
Helen Grime, Robert Irvine and Ailie Robertson were among the winners of the Scottish Awards for New Music.

Taking place on 8 March in Glasgow, the awards were created with support from Creative Scotland to celebrate and champion the highest standards and achievements of Scotland’s composers, musicians, sound artists and ensembles. PRS for Music sponsored the large scale work category won by Helen Grime.

It aims to highlight the innovative, experimental and ground-breaking work taking place and showcase breadth of the country’s contemporary music scene.

The event featured performances from the award-winner of the recorded new work category, cellist Robert Irvine, and award-nominee performance artist and musician, MacGillivray.

Alan Morrison, Creative Scotland head of music, said: ‘With such an amazingly strong set of nominees across each of the categories, the inaugural New Music Scotland Awards have instantly claimed their place on the classical calendar.

‘These are the performers, composers and ensembles who are driving forward one of Scotland’s most exciting and experimental music sectors. Congratulations to tonight’s winners and also to the venues, festivals and record labels who bring their work to an increasingly eager public.’

There were over a 180 nominations submitted by artists, audience members and the general public, reinforcing the depth and breadth of new music activity in Scotland.

The seven winners of the Scottish Awards for New Music 2017 are, in no particular order:

Red Note Ensemble

Help Musicians UK Award for New Music Performers of the Year, presented by Claire Geveaux

Ailie Robertson, composer and curator

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Award for Achievement in New Music, presented by Janet Archer, chief executive, Creative Scotland


Holiday Inn Award for Sound Art/Electroacoustic Work, presented by Oliver Searle, chair of New Music Scotland

Robert Irvine for Songs and Lullabies, Delphian Records

EVM Award for Recorded New Work presented by Alan Morrison, head of music, Creative Scotland

Drake Music Scotland - Wagner’s School of Cool

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Award for Community/Education Project presented by Gordon McPherson, head of composition, RCS.

David Fennessy for Panopticon

Dorico Award for small/medium scale work sponsored by Steinberg, presented by Richard Llewelyn

Helen Grime for Two Eardley Pictures: Catterline in Winter and Snow

Large scale work sponsored by PRS for Music presented by Stuart Fleming and Harriet Wybor