Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014 unveils shortlist

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014 has announced the shortlist of artists for this year’s event.

Jim Ottewill
  • By Jim Ottewill
  • 1 Apr 2014
  • min read
Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2014 has announced the shortlist of artists for this year’s event.

The likes of Soweto Kinch, Arun Ghosh, Troyka (in their Troykestra guise) and Jamie Cullum are all among the nominees at the awards, which takes place at the House of Commons, Terrace Pavilion on Tuesday 13 May.

The event is organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) and sponsored by PPL and will see performances from the likes of James Pearson and The Ronnie Scott’s All Stars at the ceremony.

Michael Connarty MP, co-chair of APPJAG, said: ‘These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene.

‘Now in its 10th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz. MPs and peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony in the House of Commons and we are extremely grateful to PPL for sponsoring the event.’

Winners from the event are chosen by judging members of APPJAG in Parliament following a public vote and the shortlist voted for by a selection panel.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Christine Tobin
Lauren Kinsella
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Arun Ghosh
Laura Jurd
Mike Walker

Jazz Album of the Year                       

Mark Lockheart - Ellington In Anticipation
Soweto Kinch - The Legend Of Mike Smith
Troykestra - Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Beats & Pieces Big Band
Kairos 4tet
Sons of Kemet

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Lauren Kinsella,
Phil Meadows
Reuben Fowler Big Band

Jazz Venue of the Year

London Jazz Festival
Love Supreme Jazz Festival
Manchester Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award                               

Dick Pearce - Dizzy Gillespie Was At My Wedding: Jubilance and Woe
Jamie Cullum

Jazz Education Award             

Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
John Ellis, Doncaster Youth Jazz Association
Leeds College of Music

Services to Jazz Award

David Redfern
Evan Parker
John Taylor

Visit to find out more about the event.