MTV EMA 2021 winners revealed

Hosted by rap superstar Saweetie, the global music event featured show-stopping performances by Ed Sheeran, Yung Blud and Griff.

Maya Radcliffe
  • By Maya Radcliffe
  • 15 Nov 2021
  • min read

The MTV EMAs returned live from the Papp László Budapest Sportaréna in Hungary with a global celebration of music for ALL.  
The event, which aired on MTV in 180 countries, featured electrifying performances from today’s hottest stars and honoured some of the world’s biggest artists while also celebrating music, love and equality.     

Ed Sheeran took Best Artist and Best Song for Bad Habits. Yung Blud was awarded Best Alternative, Little Mix snagged Best UK and Ireland Act and Wizkid took home Best African Act.

Deriving inspiration from the host city’s popular thermal spas and the Danube River, which runs through Budapest, the show was surrounded by water with stages that appeared to be floating.   

Ed Sheeran opened the night surrounded by neon graffiti to perform a lively rendition of his latest single, Overpass Graffiti. Later in the show, the British singer-songwriter performed his chart-topping hit Shivers

British rising star Griff made her EMA debut performing One Night with a shadow dancer and dancer dressed in a mirror ensemble.

Multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter YUNGBLUD closed the night with a high-octane, pyrotechnics-filled performance of his latest single fleabag. During the electrifying show, people fell from the sky, and the stage was trashed by the performer who at one point kissed his bass player. 

The show also featured special appearances by international pop star Rita Ora, supermodel Winnie Harlow, international musician and producer Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic, WWE Superstar Drew McIntyre, international singer-songwriter and actor Olly Alexander (Years & Years), international DJ and producer Joel Corry, and Brazilian star and singer Manu Gavassi.    

For the first time, the MTV EMA Generation Change Award winners were recognised during the EMAs main show. This year’s honourees are five young changemakers who are furthering equality and love while fighting against anti-LGBTQ+ policies.