Mercury Prize 2016

Mercury Prize 2016 announces shortlist

Skepta, Jamie Woon, Kano and the 1975 are among the nominated artists for the Mercury Prize 2016.

Jim Ottewill
  • By Jim Ottewill
  • 4 Aug 2016
  • min read
Skepta, Jamie Woon, Kano and The 1975 are among the nominated artists for the Hydundai Mercury Prize 2016.

Lauren Laverne announced the shortlist live on her BBC Radio 6 Music show.

Other artists nominated include Radiohead, Michael Kiwanuka and jazz act The Comet is Coming.

A third of the shortlisters - Bat for Lashes, Jamie Woon, Laura Mvula and The Comet Is Coming - have previously been funded by PRS for Music Foundation.

Commenting on this year's nominees, the judging panel said: ‘This is music to make sense of our unsettling times - heartfelt, angry, thoughtful and thrilling. The 2016 Hyundai Mercury Prize Albums of the Year are marked by their musical ambitions, unexpected instrumentation and breathtaking arrangements.’

For the first time, an online vote will enable music fans to select the first of six 2016 finalists from the 12 nominees. This opens at midday today (Thursday 4 August).

The shortlist, five remaining finalists and overall winner will all be chosen by the Hyundai Mercury Prize Judging Panel, based solely on artistic merit.

All six finalists and overall winner will be announced as part of the 2016 awards show, which will take place on Thursday 15 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

The full list of nominees is below:

Anohni - Hopelessness
Bat for Lashes - The Bride
David Bowie - Blackstar
Jamie Woon - Making Time
Skepta - Konnichiwa
The 1975 - I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
The Comet Is Coming - Channel the Spirits
Savages - Adore Life
Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
Laura Mvula - The Dreaming Room
Michael Kiwanuka - Love & Hate
Kano - Made in the Manor