MOBO logo 2022

Little Simz, Knucks and more win at 25th MOBO Awards

Craig David, Nile Rodgers and Jamal Edwards were also honoured at last night’s ceremony.

Liam Konemann
  • By Liam Konemann
  • 1 Dec 2022
  • min read

The winners of the 25th MOBO Awards were revealed last night in a ceremony at London’s Wembley Arena. 

Little Simz and Knucks shared the Album of the Year Award in a joint win for their albums Sometimes I Might Be Introvert and Alpha Place. Other major winners on the night included Central Cee for Best Male Act, and Pinkpantheress for Best Female Act. Dreya Mac, Felixthe1st and Finch Fetti took home Song of the Year for their collaboration Own Brand (Baddie).

Three awards were handed out for career contributions. Nile Rodgers received the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Craig David received the Outstanding Contribution Award. SB.TV founder Jamal Edwards MBE was posthumously honoured with the Paving the Way Award, supported by BBC 1XTRA.

Chunkz and Yung Filly hosted the ceremony, which featured performances from FLO, Cat Burns and others. A special broadcast, MOBO Awards 2022: Access All Areas, will air on BBC One at 10:40pm on 7 December. The special will be hosted by 1Xtra’s DJ Target.

The full list of 2022 MOBO Award winners is:

Best Male Act – Central Cee

Best Female Act – PinkPantheress

Album of the Year (joint winners) – Knucks, Alpha Place / Little Simz, Sometimes I Might Be Introvert

Song of the  Year In Association With Lucozade – Dreya Mac, Felixthe1st & Finch Fetti, Own Brand (Baddie)

Best Newcomer in association with ASOS – Bru–C

Video of the Year in association with McDonald’s McCrispy – Central Cee, Doja

Best R&B/Soul Act – Mahalia

Best Grime Act – D Double E

Best Hip Hop Act in association with Mixtape Madness – D Block Europe

Best Drill Act supported by Trench – K–Trap

Best International Act – Burna Boy

Best Performance in a TV Show/Film – Kane Robinson (Kano) as Sully, Top Boy

Best Media Personality – Nella Rose

Best Alternative Music Act in association with Marshall – Bob Vylan

Best Electronic/Dance Act supported by Mixmag – Nia Archives

Best African Music Act supported by Afrozons – Burna Boy 

Best Gospel Act supported by Premier Gospel – Still Shadey

Best Jazz Act supported by Jazz FM – Ezra Collective

Best Caribbean Music Act – Skillibeng

Best Producer supported by Complex UK – Inflo

Lifetime Achievement Award – Nile Rodgers

Outstanding Contribution Award – Craig David

Paving the Way Award supported by  Bbc 1xtra – Jamal Edwards MBE