ivors composer awards

Ivors Academy opens submissions for 2020 Composer Awards

The Ivors Academy presents awards twice a year to honour and celebrate exceptional songwriting and composing.

Maya Radcliffe
  • By Maya Radcliffe
  • 29 May 2020
  • min read

The Ivors Academy has opened entries for The Ivors Composer Awards. 

Sponsored by PRS for Music, The Ivors Composer Awards sees the presentation of Ivor Novello Awards to recognise creative excellence in classical, jazz and sound arts.

The awards presentation is in association with BBC Radio 3.

Gary Carpenter, chair, The Ivors Composer Awards Committee, said: ‘In these challenging and unsettling times it is more important than ever to celebrate the ingenuity, craft and creativity of composers and songwriters working across classical, jazz and sound arts. An Ivor Novello Award is a unique recognition of the talent and achievements of music creators by their fellow composers and songwriters. And The Ivors Composer Awards are an iconic way for us, as a community, to cherish, nurture and promote the creativity of our peers.’

Harriet Wybor, classical relationship manager, PRS for Music, said: ‘We are proud to support The Ivors Composer Awards. During these extraordinary times, it is important that we continue to celebrate the creativity of our classical, jazz, and sound art community and the significant contribution that music makes to our lives. We look forward to recognising the nominees later this year.’

Award categories are as follows:

  • Small Chamber
  • Large Chamber
  • Jazz Composition for Small Ensemble
  • Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble
  • Choral
  • Chamber Orchestral
  • Large Orchestral
  • Stage Works
  • Sound Art
  • Community and Participation

Anyone can enter a work, including the composer. There is a £10 administration fee per entry, which is waived if the composer is a member of The Ivors Academy.

To be eligible, composers must be UK born or be ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom and the work must have received its UK premiere performance, either live or broadcast during the 12 months prior to 31 March 2020.

Submissions are made through the Academy’s entry website.

Entries are open until 9 July and the winners will be announced on 1 December 2020.