Bastille, Ellie Goulding honoured at ASCAP Awards

Alex Clare, Jim Duguid, Ellie Goulding and Bastille’s Dan Smith have been honoured at the ASCAP Awards in London this week.

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 10 Oct 2014
  • min read
Smith received the Vanguard accolade in recognition of his band’s success across the pond with their debut album, which reached number five in the Billboard Top 100.

Meanwhile, Goulding and Richard Stannard’s track Lights was named Song of the Year.

Clare and Duguid received the Songwriters of the Year Award off the back of their double-platinum smash Too Close, which was recorded by Clare.

Later, Universal Music Publishing was named Publisher of the Year for its most-performed winning songs including Downton Abbey (theme), Together (The xx), Over the Love (Florence + the Machine) and Viva La Vida (Coldplay).

The American society also used the ceremony to celebrate the centenary of its UK counterpart PRS for Music.

ASCAP’s president and chairman Paul Williams and chief executive John LoFrumento presented PRS chairman Guy Fletcher and PRS for Music chief executive Robert Ashcroft with a framed copy of a commemorative statement placed in the US Congressional Record.