The Ivors 2014 Winners Announcement

BASCA, in association with PRS for Music announce the winners of the 59th Ivor Novello Awards

Ivor Novello Awards logo lock up

Fourteen Ivor Novello Awards were presented at the ceremony, which took place on Thursday 22nd May at the Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London.

Presented since 1956, The Ivors celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing.  They are presented by BASCA [British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors] and are judged by the songwriting and composing community.  They have been sponsored by PRS for Music since 1974.


BASCA is delighted that in their 59 th year The Ivors continue to recognise the best young and emerging talent that the UK has to offer whilst celebrating the enduring catalogues of some of our outstanding songwriters and composers.  I congratulate everyone who has received an Ivor Novello Award today.

BASCA Chairman, Simon Darlow

For press enquiries please contact:

Taylor Herring
Tel: 020 8206 5151

Peter Mountstevens

Jenny Fairweather

The official hashtag is: #TheIvors
Our official twitter feed is: @BASCA_UK
Our official Facebook page is:

Winners of the 59th Ivor Novello Awards

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Let Her Go
Written by Mike Rosenberg
Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music Publishing

The Ivors Classical Music Award

John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack

Ripper Street
Composed by Dominik Scherrer
Published in the UK by Du Vinage Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Best Contemporary Song

Written by James Blake
Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing

International Achievement

Ed Dwane, Ben Lovett, Winston Marshall and Marcus Mumford [Mumford & Sons]

Best Original Film Score

The Epic of Everest
Composed by Simon Fisher Turner
Published in the UK by Mute Song

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Jerry Dammers

Album Award

Push the Sky Away
Written by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
Published in the UK by Mute Song

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Written by Dominic Major, Hannah Reid and Daniel Rothman
Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell Music 

Songwriter of the Year

Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection

Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons [The Chemical Brothers]

Lifetime Achievement

Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award

Nile Rodgers

Notes for Editors

About The Ivors

The Ivor Novello Awards were created by BASCA’s former incarnation, The Songwriters’ Guild of Great Britain, in 1956.  Named in honour of Ivor Novello, Britain’s most successful and distinguished theatrical composer at the time, the aim of the awards was to shine a spotlight on the excellence of British songwriters and composers in an age when international music dominated the British airwaves.

The Ivors were first presented on 11 March 1956 at Theatre Royal, Drury Lane.  The statuette, a representation of Euterpe, the Greek muse of music and lyric poetry was designed by Hazel Underwood and to this day is still cast in solid bronze.  For 58 years over 1,000 statuettes have been presented to songwriters, composers and their music publishers in recognition of the excellence of their compositions.

The Ivors continue to be owned and presented by BASCA, a not for profit membership organisation for British songwriters and composers.  Since 1974 they have been sponsored by PRS for Music.


BASCA, the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors, is the professional association for music writers of all genres in the UK.  BASCA is the single voice for British music creators.

BASCA works to foster a sense of community amongst songwriters, lyricists and composers, and to campaign on their behalf in the domestic, European and international political arenas. As the only association in the country made up entirely of music writers, the organisation has an unparalleled insight into the issues affecting music creators in the UK today. We work closely with our members, keeping them informed in a constantly changing environment via our publications, websites, seminars and professional networking events. BASCA also presents the Ivor Novello Awards, British Composer Awards and Gold Badge Awards.

Academy Fellows: John Adams, David Arnold, Malcolm Arnold, John Barry, Don Black, Pierre Boulez, John Dankworth, David Ferguson, George Fenton, Elton John, Barry Gibb, Maurice Gibb, Robin Gibb, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Paul McCartney, Peter Maxwell Davies and Tim Rice.

About PRS for Music

Here for music since 1914, PRS for Music is a world-leading music collective management organisation representing the rights of more than 175,000 talented songwriters, composers and music publishers. Redefining the global standard for music royalties, PRS for Music ensures songwriters and composers are paid whenever their musical compositions and songs are streamed, downloaded, broadcast, performed and played in public. 

For 110 years it has grown and protected the rights of the music creator community, paying out royalties with more accuracy, transparency and speed. In 2023, PRS for Music paid out £943.6m in royalties and collected a record £1.08 billion in revenues.

switching account

Switching your account...