Winners announced for 2010 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

The House of Commons played host to the sixth PPL sponsored Parliamentary Jazz Awards on May 20th 2010.

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 20 May 2010
  • min read
The House of Commons played host to the sixth PPL sponsored Parliamentary Jazz Awards on May 20th 2010.

The event was attended by a record number of MPs and peers, showing a cross-party love of jazz. It was the first major musical event in the new Parliamentary calendar.

Hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini, many MPs, Peers and renowned jazz musicians were present on the night including Mr Ed Vaizy, MP, Stan Tracey, Cleveland Watkiss and Jacqui Dankworth. Guests were treated to a performance by 2009 Jazz Musician of the Year, Phil Robson with vocalist Christine Tobin.

The full list of winners is:

Jazz Musician - Mark Lockheart
Ex-Loose Tubes and Perfect Houseplants saxophonist Mark Lockheart  had another very busy year in 2009; releasing the outstanding album In Deep, performing live with this band and gigging constantly throughout the UK, and also as regular saxophonist with the critically acclaimed band Polar Bear.

Jazz Album - The Gareth Lockrane Septet No Messin

Described by John Fordham in The Guardian as, 'the formidable Lockrane … a stunning display of sharp-accented runs, earthy whoops and constantly refreshed melodic ideas'.

Jazz Ensemble - Nigel Price Organ Trio
Nigel Price is a British guitarist devoted to the Montgomery/Green sound, in particular to its use in a trio format completed by Hammond organ and drums. A former soldier, Price made his jazz name with the funky James Taylor Quartet, and then went on to form his own trio with organist Pete Whittaker and drummer Matt Home. The trio celebrates a classic and very popular jazz style, and captures its spirit and sound immaculately.

Jazz Venue - Jazz Bar (Edinburgh)
The Jazz Bar was created by, and is operated by, Edinburgh-based drummer and jazz organiser Bill Kyle.  The Bar was voted in 2009 Scotland's Jazz Venue of the Year at the Scottish Jazz Awards and Scotland's Music Pub of the Year at the Scottish Licensed Trade News awards.

Jazz Journalist - Mike Flynn
Mike Flynn is the gig guide and website editor for Jazzwise as well as being Time Out’s jazz editor. His feel for the music scene is probably helped by his own prowess as a formidable electric bassist, active in various groups.

Jazz Broadcaster - Alyn Shipton
Alyn Shipton is an award-winning author and broadcaster, who is jazz critic for The Times in London, and a presenter/producer of jazz programmes for BBC Radio. Shipton is also a regular contributor to CD Review and Jazz Legends on BBC Radio 3.

Jazz Publication - Jazzwise
Published monthly, Jazzwise has subscribers around the world and runs a popular website. It is a glossy, highly professional and luxuriously illustrated publication that successfully balances coverage of the music’s biggest international stars and the up-and-coming players that bring new energies and ideas to jazz.

Jazz Educator - Dr Kathy Dyson
Dr Kathy Dyson is Senior Lecturer in Jazz at Leeds College of Music with particular interests in performing, research and teaching. As well as playing guitar professionally and teaching she is also known for her research and is an active and enthusiastic member of the Musicians’ Union.

Services to Jazz - Brian Blain
A jazz enthusiast since his teens, Brian Blain has been a tireless worker for the music over the past six decades.   At eighty years of age he remains as committed as ever to the music, contributing to JazzUK as southern news editor, feature writer and reviewer and continuing to promote regular Thursday gigs at Lauderdale House in Highgate.