The Ivors 2020 winners revealed

Jamie Cullum, Little Simz, Dave, Labrinth and Joan Armatrading are among this year's winners.

Maya Radcliffe
  • By Maya Radcliffe
  • 2 Sep 2020
  • min read

The winners for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards have been revealed.

Little Simz won best album while rapper Dave and producer Fraser T Smith took home best contemporary song.

Meanwhile, newcomer Mysie picked up the new rising star award while songwriter of the year went to Steve Mac. Steve co-wrote Mabel's Don't Call Me Up, South Of The Border by Ed Sheeran featuring Camilla Cabello and Cardi B and Better Man and Harder by Jax Jones and Bebe Rexha.

Jamie Cullum received best song musically and lyrically for his track The Age Of Anxiety, and the award for the best television soundtrack was given to Labrinth for Euphoria.

The PRS for Music Most Performed Work accolade went to Calvin Harris, Jamie Hartman, Rag ‘n’ Bone Man and Troy Miller for Giant

Now in its 65th year, the awards celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing across categories for songs, album, film, TV and video game scores.

The prestigious ceremony was set to take place at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on September 2, having been postponed earlier this year, but was later cancelled as the pandemic developed. The winners were instead unveiled by Matt Wilkinson on Apple Music 1.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Best Album

Grey Area - Written by Inflo and Little Simz

Performed by Little Simz. Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing.

Best Contemporary Song

Black - Written by Dave and Fraser T Smith

Performed by Dave. Published in the UK by Warner Chappell Music and Kobalt Music Publishing.

Best Original Film Score

Midsommar - Composed by Bobby Krlic

Published in the UK by A24 Music - Kobalt Music Publishing.

Best Original Video Game Score

Draugen - Composed by Simon Poole

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Age of Anxiety - Written and performed by Jamie Cullum Published in the UK by Sentric Music Ltd.

Best Television Soundtrack

Euphoria - Composed by Labrinth

Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Giant - Written by Calvin Harris, Jamie Hartman, Rag ‘n’ Bone Man and Troy Miller

Performed by Calvin Harris and Rag ‘n’ Bone Man. Published in the UK by EMI Music Publishing, Reservoir Reverb Music, Warner Chappell Music and Bucks Music Group.

Rising Star Award with Apple Music

Presented to Mysie

Songwriter of the Year

Presented to Steve Mac

Academy Fellowship

Presented to Joan Armatrading