The Ivor Novello Awards winners

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 20 May 2010
  • min read
The 55th Ivor Novello Awards took place this afternoon, Thursday May 20.

The Ivors are presented by the British Association of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) in association with PRS for Music. The Awards luncheon took place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in Mayfair, London. The prestigious annual awards celebrate the success and craft of the songwriters behind our favourite pieces of music.

Lily Allen and Greg Kurstin picked up the PRS for Music Most Performed Work award and Best Song Musically and Lyrically for Lily's hit The Fear. The duo were also lauded as Songwriters of the Year.

The PRS for Music Outstanding contribution to British Music was awarded to Trevor Horn, while Veteran singer and songwriter Neil Sedaka accepted the Special International Award.

PRS for Music congratulates all the Ivors winners. A full list is below:

PRS for Music Most Performed work
Song: The Fear
Writer/s: Lily Allen / Greg Kurstin
Performed By: Lily Allen
UK Publisher/s: Universal Music Publishing / EMI Music Publishing

Best Television Soundtrack
Broadcast: Desperate Romantics
Composer: Daniel Pemberton
UK Publisher: Moncur Street Music
Broadcast: Desperate Romantics

Best Contemporary Song
Song: Daniel
Songwriter: Natasha Khan
Performed By: Bat For Lashes

The Ivors Inspiration Award
Johnny Marr

Best Original Video Game Score
Game: Killzone 2
Composer: Joris de Man
Developer: Guerrilla Games
UK Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment Europe

The Ivors Classical Music Award
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

Best Song Musically And Lyrically
Song: The Fear
Writer/s: Lily Allen / Greg Kurstin
Performed By:  Lily Allen

Album Award
Album:  Sunny Side Up
Songwriter: Paolo Nutini
Performed By: Paolo Nutini
UK Publisher: Warner/Chappell Music

International Achievement
Imogen Heap

Best Original Film Score
Film: Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
Composer: John Powell
UK Publisher: EMI Music Publishing

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music
Trevor Horn

The Special International Award
Neil Sedaka

Songwriters Of The Year
Lily Allen and Greg Kurstin

Lifetime Achievement
Paul Weller

The Academy Fellowship
Sir Tim Rice