Steve Reid InNOVAtion Award winners revealed

Unsigned acts Moses Boyd, Sarathy Korwar, Wu-Lu, Hector Plimmer and Lady Vendredi have been selected for the Steve Reid InNOVAtion Awards mentorship programme.

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 20 Jan 2015
  • min read
The initiative will offer all five artists cash bursaries and mentorship from Steve Reid Foundation trustees including Four Tet, Theo Parrish, Floating Points, RocketnumberNine, Emanative and Charlie Dark.

Jointly funded by PRS for Music Foundation and the Steve Reid Foundation, the scheme will support the boundary-pushing artists to record and perform their work, host live audiovisual pieces or create concept music releases.

Tabla player and composer Korwar said: ‘I feel extremely privileged to have the opportunity to create music under the experienced and creative watch of the mentors involved with the Steve Reid InNOVAtion Award.

‘The award has made it possible to not only setup my own project but also help me make crucial decisions that will ultimately influence the final resulting music and how it is received.’

PRS for Music Foundation executive director Vanessa Reed said: ‘The response to this first edition of the Steve Reid InNOVAtion awards reflects the inventiveness and imagination of the UK's next generation of music pioneers.

‘Congratulations to the five artists who've been selected. I look forward to seeing how their work develops as they receive mentorship and support.’

Gilles Peterson, founder of the Steve Reid Foundation, added: ‘Steve Reid was passionate about new artists and experimental music and would have loved this!’

The Steve Reid Foundation was set up by Peterson, Brownswood Records and a collective of trustees who worked closely with and were inspired by the legendary jazz drummer.

Reid’s musical career was marked by innovation, experimentation and breaking frontiers and he is well known for his work with Miles Davis, Fela Kuti, James Brown, Jimi Hendrix, Sun Ra and Four Tet.