PinkPantheress wins BBC Sound of 2022 poll

The 20-year-old from Bath was chosen by a panel of over 130 industry experts and artists, including Billie Eilish, Sir Elton John, Ed Sheeran, Jorja Smith and more.

Jamie MacMillan
  • By Jamie MacMillan
  • 6 Jan 2022
  • min read

PinkPantheress has been named the winner of BBC Music’s Sound of 2022 poll, following in the footsteps of Pa Salieu and other previous winners such as Adele, Michael Kiwanuka, Ellie Goulding, HAIM, Years & Years, Ray BLK and Sigrid.

The award marks a meteoric rise for the 20-year-old, with her debut mixtape To Hell With It only being released in October. Nominated by a panel of music industry experts including the likes of Sir Elton John and Billie Eilish, Pink Pantheress has become a viral sensation with her use of sub-two minute tracks that capture the vibe and attitude of a late night comedown for the TikTok generation. With over 1 million followers and 7.5 million likes on the app, it was Just For Me that lifted her onto A-Lists around the world. 

PinkPantheress says: ‘Thank you so much! I’m honestly gassed, my dad’s going to be so happy! This is kind of the reason I do music – it’s for other people as well as myself. It’s a great feeling and it genuinely does keep me going.’

Jack Saunders, host of Radio 1’s Future Artists show, says: ‘It was a fierce year for talent on Radio 1’s Sound of list this year and that shows you the quality of the winner, PinkPantheress. Her rise through TikTok came at a time before everyone else had properly realised the app’s potential and she also applied this foresight to her music. Stirring a smooth melting pot of UK Garage, Drum n Bass and Emo with a good helping of mystery in her persona; everyone wants to be a PinkPantheress fan at the moment. She is a pop prodigy and deserved winner of Radio 1’s Sound of 2022.’

The top five artists for Sound of 2022 are: 
1. PinkPantheress
2. Wet Leg
3. Mimi Webb
4. Lola Young
5. Central Cee

The remaining five artists on the longlist were Baby Queen, ENNY, Priya Ragu, Tems and Yard Act.

The Sound of… award started in 2003, with the first award won by US rapper 50 Cent.