Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022 nominations announced

The nominees for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022 have been announced, after an expert selection panel drew the shortlist following an online public vote.

Liam Konemann
  • By Liam Konemann
  • 10 Jun 2022
  • min read

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards have announced their nominees for 2022. Organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group with the support of PizzaExpress Live, the Awards celebrate the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene in the United Kingdom. Following an online public vote, the shortlist was decided upon by a selection panel of knowledgeable jazz enthusiasts from a broad range of backgrounds. The winners will be chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group, and announced on Tuesday 5 July.  

The award categories reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene. Previous winners include Nubya Garcia, Ezra Collective and Norma Winstone.  

John Spellar MP, All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group co-chair, said: ‘These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who helped kept jazz flourishing.  These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 17th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.’ 

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022 nominations are: 

Jazz Vocalist of the Year 
Claire Martin 
Emma Smith 
Brigitte Beraha  
Jo Harrop 

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year 
Tony Kofi 
Xhosa Cole 
Fergus McCreadie 

Jazz Album of the Year 
Matt Ridley - The Antidote 
Daniel Casimir - Boxed In  
Jo Harrop - The Heart Wants 

Jazz Ensemble of the Year 
Kansas Smitty’s House Band  
Black Top 
Nikki Iles Jazz Orchestra 

Jazz Newcomer of the Year 
Deschanel Gordon   
Alex Clarke 
Emma Rawicz 
Chelsea Carmichael 

Jazz Venue of the Year 
Toulouse Lautrec 
The Globe, Newcastle upon Tyne 
The Verdict, Brighton 

Jazz Media Award 
The Jazz Podcast 
London Jazz News 
Jane Cornwell 

Jazz Education Award 
Jazz Camp For Young Girls - Helena Summerfield 
Nikki Yeoh 
Pete Churchill  

Services to Jazz Award 
Mike Westbrook 
Help Musicians 
Dave Green 
Nigel Price