Laura Mvula and Wiley lead MOBO Award nominations

Laura Mvula and Wiley lead the 2013 MOBO Award shortlist with four nominations apiece.

Anita Awbi
  • By Anita Awbi
  • 4 Sep 2013
  • min read
Both are battling for the coveted Best Album gong, alongside Angel, Rudimental and Disclosure. Wiley was also nominated for the PRS for Music sponsored Best Song Award for his top 10 hit Reload, featuring Chip.

He faces stiff competition from Disclosure and Aluna George (White Noise), Naughty Boy (La La La), Rudimental (Waiting All Night) and Wretch 32 featuring Shakka (Black Out).

Elsewhere, Jessie Ware and Lianne La Havas are up against Laura Mvula in the Best R&B/Soul category, and X Factor’s Jahmene Douglas will compete against rapper Stylo G, Etta Bond and Fuse ODG in the Best Newcomer category.

The nominations were announced at a glitzy ceremony at Holborn’s Connaught Rooms, London, last night. Multi-platinum selling Gabrielle attended the event, alongside Jessie J and Emeli Sande. So Solid Crew and Fuse ODG  were among the performers, and M was on hand to chat to them before the show to find out what they're working on at the moment. Interviews coming shortly.

Voting is now open to decide the winners for the 18th MOBO Awards.

The ceremony will take place on 19 October at the SECC, Glasgow.

Full list of nominations:

Best Newcomer
Elli Ingram
Etta Bond
Fuse ODG
Jacob Banks
Jahmene Douglas
Krept and Konan
Sam Smith

Stylo G

Best Male Act 
Naughty Boy

Wretch 32

Best Female Act
Jessie J

Jessie Ware
Laura Mvula
Lianna La Havas
Rita Ora

Best Video in association with SBTV 
Aluna George - Attracting Flies

Dizzee Rascal - Bassline Junkie
Fuse ODG ft Wyclef - Antenna
Laura Mvula - Green Garden
Naughty Boy feat. Sam Smith - La La La
Rizzle Kicks - Lost Generation

Best UK Hip Hop/Grime 
K Koke
Tinie Tempah
Wretch 32

Best Album 
Angel - About Time
Disclosure - Settle
Laura Mvula - Sing To the Moon
Rudimental - Home
Wiley - Ascent

Best R&B/Soul Act 
Jessie Ware
Laura Mvula
Lianne La Havas

Best Song in Association with PRS for Music
Disclosure feat. Aluna George White Noise
Naughty Boy - La La La
Rudimental - Waiting All Night
Wiley feat. Chip - Reloaded
Wretch 32 ft Shakka - Black Out

Best International Act 
Iggy Azalea
Jason Derulo
Jay Z
Justin Timberlake
Kanye West
Kendrick Lamar
Robin Thicke

Best African Act 
Fuse ODG
Ice Prince
Seun Kuti
Spoek Mathambo
Tiwa Savage

Best Reggae Act 
Sean Paul
Stylo G
Tarrus Riley

Best Jazz Act
Sons Of Kemet
Courtney Pine
Soweto Kinch
Jazz Jamaica

Best Gospel Act 
Guvna B
Lurine Cato
Sandra Godley

The MOBO organisation was established by Kanya King MBE in 1996 to recognise the outstanding achievements of artists who perform music in genres ranging from gospel, jazz, R&B and soul to reggae and hip hop.

Over the past 17 years MOBO has played an instrumental role in elevating black music and culture to mainstream popular status in the UK.