Ivors Academy Honours September 2023

Ivors Academy Honours to celebrate exceptional service in the UK music industry

The honours will continue the legacy of the Academy's Gold Badge Awards.

Sam Moore
  • By Sam Harteam Moore
  • 6 Sep 2023
  • min read

The first recipients of the Ivors Academy Honours have been announced, with Kevin Brennan MP, Carla Marie Williams, Crispin Hunt and the late Rupert Hine all being honoured.

A revival of the Academy's Gold Badge Awards, which were last presented in 2019, this new award recognises 'exceptional people from across the music industry who create positive change and champion music creators'.

Welsh Labour politician Kevin Brennan, who has served as the MP for Cardiff West since 2001 and is Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Music, is being recognised for his 'passionate advocacy for music', with the Academy noting how 'he has repeatedly worked towards meaningful change for creators and championed the importance of music to society'.

The Academy is also honouring the Ivor Novello-nominated songwriter, mentor and entrepreneur Carla Marie Williams, who founded GIR (Girls I Rate) in 2016 to 'provide female artists with a voice and platform, uniting women to create opportunities within the music and creative industries'.

Multi-platinum selling songwriter and producer Crispin Hunt, who has worked with the likes of Florence + The Machine, Lana Del Rey and Ellie Goulding, is the third person to receive an Ivors Academy Honour.

'Alongside his creative work, Crispin has dedicated much of his professional life to campaigning on behalf of music creators, including roles on the Boards of the Featured Artists Coalition, PRS for Music and PPL,' the Academy explained. 'We wish to recognise the immense contribution Crispin made when elected as Chair of The Ivors Academy from 2016 to 2022.'

Rupert Hine is being posthumously honoured by the Academy. The trailblazing producer, songwriter and musician, who passed away in June 2020 aged 72, was a founding member of the British Record Producers’ Guild (the frontrunner of the Music Producers Guild) and was acclaimed for his contributions to production, which included the development of MIDI.

'An active Director of The Ivors Academy, he dedicated much of his latter career to supporting creators and encouraging innovation across the music industry, particularly in technology,' the Academy added of Rupert's inclusion.

Ivors Academy Fellow Joan Armatrading will present the inaugural Ivors Academy Honours during a reception at Tanners Warehouse in Bermondsey, London on 20 September. The event will follow the Academy’s sold-out Global Creators Summit on AI in music, supported by PRS for Music, and you can book tickets for the Ivors Academy Honours here.

Tom Gray, Chair of The Ivors Academy, said in a statement: 'Ivors Academy Honours is our opportunity as a community of songwriters and composers to recognise the innovators, the trailblazers, the leaders and unsung heroes who inspire and champion us. Kevin, Carla, Crispin and Rupert have made a real difference to music creators, and we are proud and humbled to celebrate their achievements.'

Graham Davies, CEO of The Ivors Academy, added: 'With the Ivors Academy Honours we are able to give due public attention and thanks to people from across the music who have worked, often behind the scenes, to make our industry better.

'We look forward to giving our further awards over the coming year.'