female musician

HyperTribe launches free mentoring programme for women in music

The four-week Pioneer Mentoring Programme is HyperTribe’s response to tackling diversity in the music industry.

Maya Radcliffe
  • By Maya Radcliffe
  • 14 Sep 2020
  • min read

Following the success of its May 2020 Pioneer Mentoring Programme, Hypertribe is welcoming female musicians of all levels to sign up for its free four-week mentoring programme. 

Starting on the 28 September, confirmed mentors include Kelli-Leigh who has been Grammy nominated for best voice, and platinum-selling Karen Harding, along with Joy Crookes, Caswell, Jessica Winter, Tamzene, Chloe Diana, Malynda Hale, Camden Cox, and Grace Grundy, with more artists to be confirmed.

Mentees will be matched with a mentor who will help work with them on certain aspects of their career and towards overcoming obstacles hindering their progress. 

The programme aims to support artists by introducing them to a peer-to-peer support network, providing them with specialist knowledge about the music industry and introducing them to manageable steps towards musical and financial independence. They’ll also have the opportunity to attend specialist Q&As with mentors and industry experts.

Founded by Kimmy Dickson, who experienced a growing frustration with the fractured and biased way in which the music industry works, the Pioneer Mentoring Programme was created to give female artists the tools they need to navigate the music industry and find their own sustainable path through it. 

‘Kimmy Dickson said: ‘We hope that we are the first of many to actively continue to address the gender equality that is so rife within artist development within the music industry, using mentoring. There is a whole host of untapped female talent out there, waiting for the opportunity to be mobilised.’

‘I hope that as artists progress on their journey, they will then be inspired to start work with and support the artists behind them to form a music community which is run by artists for artists.’

The deadline for registration is 25 September 2020.