David Stopps and Roxanne de Bastion elected to PPL Performer Board

David Stopps and Roxanne de Bastion have been elected to join the PPL Performer Board.

Jim Ottewill
  • By Jim Ottewill
  • 25 Nov 2016
  • min read
David Stopps and Roxanne de Bastion have been elected to join the PPL Performer Board.  

The Annual Performer Meeting (APM) is for performers registered with PPL, who have received PPL revenue in either of the preceding two financial years (2014 and/or 2015).

This year’s event was attended by over 80 performing members and included addresses by PPL chief executive officer (CEO) Peter Leathem and the PPL Performer Board’s outgoing chairman, Gerald Newson.

PPL’s constitution requires that, at each APM, the longest serving elected performer director(s) must step down and an election held. The incumbent director(s) may stand for re-election but alternative candidates may also be nominated for election.

This year, Gerald Newson (current chairman of the PPL Performer Board) was the elected performer director who stepped down as a result of this process.

Producer, Steve Levine, performers, Roxanne de Bastion and Marcus O’Neill, and artist manager, David Stopps stood for election this year. All five candidates submitted written election statements prior to the meeting. They can be viewed and downloaded online.

The meeting also included a presentation of PPL’s Annual Performer Review. Key financial highlights from 2015 include a five percent uplift on 2014 in PPL’s total licence fee income collected, to £197m.

Peter Leathem, PPL CEO, said: ‘We’ve come a long way in ten years, trebling the number of performers that receive equitable remuneration and more than doubling our collections for members to £197m in 2015.

‘I would like to thank the Performer Board for their ongoing commitment and support and welcome Roxanne and David to their board positions. I look forward to working with them and building on the progress that has been made.’

Visit ppluk.com for more information.