Björk named Best Live Performer as AIM Awards confirm final 2023 nominees

The ceremony will take place at the Roundhouse in London next month.

Sam Moore
  • By Sam Harteam Moore
  • 24 Aug 2023
  • min read

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) has announced further details about the AIM Awards 2023, confirming that Björk has been crowned Best Live Performer.

This year's awards ceremony, which will 'recognise the achievements of independent labels, artists and entrepreneurs that make up the UK’s diverse and thriving independent music sector', will take place at the Roundhouse in London on 26 September, with the first round of nominations being announced last month.

Further details about the AIM Awards 2023 have been announced today (24 August), including the final set of nominees and the first winners. 

Björk has been crowned Best Live Performer after a public vote, with the Icelandic artist - who was nominated for her Cornucopia tour - seeing off the challenge of Beabadoobee, MUNA and BABYMETAL.

Dr Charisse Beaumont, CEO of Black Lives in Music (BLiM), has been named as the AIM Awards 2023's Diversity Champion in recognition of her work at the forefront of creating an inclusive music industry, such as the roll-out of BLiM’s voluntary Music Industry Anti-Racism Code.

In addition to these two winners, five more awards categories - including the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist and Best Independent Label - have been announced today. You can see the details of those below.


PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

AntsLive (Payday Records, Trademark Records)

John Summit (Off The Grid Records)

Surya Sen (Skint Records)

Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Records)


Music Entrepreneur of the Year

Alex Brees - Un:hurd

Caius Pawson - Young / Space

Jess Kangalee - Good Energy PR

Keturah Cummings - Forward Slash

Yasin El Ashrafi - HQ Familia


Best Boutique Label

Chess Club

Glasgow Underground


Rough Bones

So Young Records


Best Independent Label

Defected Records

Forever Living Originals

Hospital Records

One Little Independent



Best Creative Campaign

Because Music (Shygirl - Nymph)

Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama - Hold The Girl)

Human Re Sources (RAYE - My 21st Century Blues)

Ninja Tune (Young Fathers - Heavy Heavy)

Partisan Records (Ezra Collective - Where I’m Meant To Be)

XL Recordings (Yaeji - With A Hammer)

You can find out more information about the AIM Awards 2023 by heading here.